Founded in 1971 and operated by the University of Missouri-Kansas City since 1983, BkMk Press publishes exceptional books of poetry, short fiction, and creative essays, and sponsors the John Ciardi Prize for Poetry and the G. S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction.

Recent award recognition for BkMk titles includes the American Book Award, Maine Literary Award in Poetry, Pen/Faulkner and PEN/Hemingway finalists, Poets Prize, Ernest J. Gaines Award, Chautauqua Prize finalist and long list, CNY (Central New York) Book Award, Writers League of Texas Award, and others.

BkMk Press is a member of the Community of Literary Magazines and Presses. The press offers internship and volunteer opportunities for individuals to learn about book publishing.