BkMk Press Books

Tea & Other Ayama Na Tales

Stories

by Eleanor Bluestein

Price: $16.95, 236 pages

ISBN: 9781886157644, 2008

 

Winner of the G.S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction, Selected by Marly Swick

Finalist, ForeWord Reviews Book of the year

Recommended Book, Julia Ward Howe Book Awards, Boston Authors Club

Featured on ForeWord Reviews Book Club

 

Book Description

Publication Date: November 30, 2008

Fiction. The tales of Bluestein's book unfold as the small fictional South Asian country of Ayama Na recovers from war and prepares for its inevitable Westernization. "In the tradition of Robert Olen Butler and Bob Shacochis," writes Marly Swick, O. Henry Award winner who selected this book for the G. S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction, "Bluestein is a writer who illuminates our cultural differences, while exploring the intricacies of the human condition." Publishers Weekly writes, "Bluestein brings a versatile, captivating voice to her debut story collection set in the fictional Asian country of Ayama Na." Booklist calls Bluestein "a writer to watch." Bluestein's Ayama Na may be a fictional place, but the characters, their struggles, their cruelty and their hearts are authentic.

 

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Editor and educator Bluestein brings a versatile, captivating voice to her debut story collection set in the fictional Asian country of Ayama Na, a tiny nation recovering from a violent coup and just developing a global identity (i.e., ambivalently welcoming Western influences). In The Artist's Story, an American businessman travels to Ayama Na's capital to retrieve his girlfriend's schizophrenic brother, only to be met with opposition from the man's caretaker, a one-legged prostitute. Skin Deep digs into the conflicted psyche of a Miss Ayama Na contestant whose education has been put on hold to compete in the pageant. From the robot-smitten factory worker in Aibo, or Love at First Sight to the saintly tour guide in The Blanks whose virtue is sorely challenged by tourists from Hell, Bluestein explores with affection and a wicked sense of humor the excesses and arrogance of American culture amid a nation so much older, wiser, and sadder than theirs. Though the allegorical overtones can be initially off-putting, the intricacy of Bluestein's imagination will quickly draw readers in. (Nov.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

In this award-winning debut story collection, Bluestein invents a war-torn Southeast Asian country, Ayama Na, and its capital, Pin Dalie. While the fates of Ayama Na’s inhabitants range from triumph to tragedy, redemption, and acceptance, their yearnings converge around the search for something more. In Aibo or Love at First Sight, Dali-Roo, a farmer forced into factory work after a devastating drought, risks his family’s well-being by stealing factory parts to build a robot pet. In The Artist’s Story, Alan, an American, travels to Pin Dalie to save his girlfriend’s starving-artist brother, Peter, and meets seemingly insane Peter’s girlfriend, a one-legged whore, who upends all his assumptions and makes him think perhaps he’s the one who needs to be saved. The development and resolution of her characters’ curious plights often feel rushed, and their motivations remain unclear, but readers will appreciate Bluestein’s originality and the simplicity of her style. The universality with which she approaches human suffering and desire, regardless of race, culture, or place, makes Bluestein a writer to watch. --Heather Dewar

 

Published 2008

See All books

    Things We Do When No One Is Watching

    Stories

    By Philip Gerard

      Resonant and lyrical tales of the dangers and frustrations of life at all ages.    —Kirkus Reviews One Gerard character says that “childhood is a dangerous country, and not all of us...

    Currents

    Poems

    By Bojan Louis

    It takes only the ring of the opening poems in Currents to realize this book does exactly what one hopes a first book will do, bring alive a new, original voice.  It’s a voice Bojan Louis not only sustains, but builds, the way,...

Kansas City Literary Events

John Freeman

Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Kansas City, Mo.

News

Writers for Readers

Join us at Writers for Readers November 1st,  an evening celebrating the power of expression through creative writing and reading. 

Shop

Clarion Awards Selection CD Special

Jamaica KincaidJim ShepardGloria Vando & Anika ParisLuis Alberto Urrea, and Alex George, normally $7.99 per episode, this cd collection comes with over $15.00 in savings. Downloads of these programs have been reduced and are available through our archives.